Gluten Free Creations From Old Favorites!

…yes! I said Bread Crumbs and Gluten Free in the same sentence!

As promised… the recipe for the first Gluten Free (GF) revision of one of my favorites! No, you’re not seeing things… there are bread crumbs on those shrimp! That is exactly why I figured this was one I would not be able to modify. This dish wouldn’t be the same without those little crunchy bits of texture and flavor. Oh So Not True! I figured a way to make bread crumbs Gluten Free. Looks damn good doesn’t it?! Trust me, it is! (I mean it was 😉 lol)

Ok, so here we go. The first thing I will explain is how I got Gluten Free bread crumbs! Easy peasy folks! Being new to the Gluten Free Club (no such thing, I made that up lol) I was up for trying any breads I could find that were labeled Gluten Free (GF). I loved my whole grain breads, especially the ones from the bakery at my local Whole Foods Market in Milford CT. Those are now off-limits for me unfortunately but the trade-off of feeling better is worth it. Anyway, I had purchased a loaf of GF brown sandwich bread, toasted a piece and promptly tossed it after trying a few bites. That icky bread went to the back of my freezer. I was not going to toss it because GF products are super expensive! (If you know of any places to get GF products that do not break the bank — please let me know ok? I would be happy to check it out!!) That’s when I saw the lonely bag of frozen raw shrimp and the light bulb went off! If the bread was not going to be used for toast or sandwiches I would use it to make my own bread crumbs! I had made croutons before with left over bread so bread crumbs are just croutons smashed up right? lol I spread the slices out on a parchment covered cookie sheet and seasoned them lightly with salt, pepper and some dry basil flakes drizzled some extra virgin olive oil and plopped it in the oven until they were crunchy. After they were cooled I just smashed them into the size crumbs I wanted to use. Voila! GF bread crumbs! Great bread crumbs from yucky bread! I was not tossing that bread and I am glad I didn’t! (No, I didn’t burn them lol it was a dark GF sandwich bread that I used lol) Damn. I threw the bag away so now I hope I don’t by that same yucky bread again! (more bread crumbs if I do lol)

To make this dish all you need is:

1/4 – 1/2 Cup of your Gluten Free Bread Crumbs

1 Bunch Green Onions (Scallions)

1 – 2 Fresh Garlic Cloves or as much or as little as you like

1 lb. Raw Shrimp cleaned and shelled

Salt & Pepper to taste

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

9×13 baking dish

To put this dish together all you do is:

Rinse and clean your shrimp

Chop your scallions and garlic, set aside. (See **below for some variations)

Preheat your oven to 350F

* Very lightly oil the bottom of the baking dish to prevent sticking.
* Place the raw shrimp in the dish in a single layer.
* Sprinkle salt and pepper over the shrimp (to your taste).
* Spread the scallions and garlic generously over the shrimp.
* Finish with a sprinkle of your GF bread crumbs!
* Place your dish of yumminess into your preheated oven for about 20 minutes total

IMPORTANT — Make sure you check it every 5 – 8 minutes as the shrimp can cook quickly and you don’t want burnt rubbery shrimps.

The shrimp will pink up, curl and be slightly firm to the touch when cooked through.

I served this over some plain white rice but you can eat it as is with your favorite GF side(s).

**Variations:

You can lightly sauté the scallions and garlic before topping the shrimp. (also yummy)

I used frozen shrimp and found that rinsing them well in cold water will help remove the ‘saltiness’ that can sometimes accompany frozen raw shrimp. (I like to take advantage of Big Y’s buy one get two when they offer it.)

You can also add some peppers or any other Gluten Free items you like to use with your shrimp dishes in there as well. I was thinking about researching bacon (Oh bacon wonderful delicious bacon… are you gluten-free?) and instead of the bread crumbs — using crumbled bacon!!

I’m learning more and more each day about exactly what gluten is used for as well as in and I am shocked. So yes, I do a lot of research before putting anything to my lips. Stay tuned for some information that I found out about Gluten. I was not very informed before I had no choice but to be informed! It’s actually pretty interesting and I look forward to your comments and suggestions!

Remember, if you vary from any ingredients that I used, I cannot guarantee those will be Gluten Free. That part is up to you my darlings!

 

Stay healthy and bon appétit!

Love, Alyss

Comments on: "Gluten Free Baked Shrimp with Bread Crumbs…" (1)

  1. […] Free Bread Recipe for Sandwiches: Oat or SorghumGluten Free Baked Shrimp with Bread Crumbs….broken_link, a.broken_link { text-decoration: line-through; }#header { background: […]

Comments are closed.